top of page

OUR RENTAL HOUSE - PART THREE


Master bedroom

The exterior of our house is a traditional craftsman and we wanted to continue that feel into the house when adding our personal touches. I have always loved the look of old houses, but not the work that goes with them. We have a transitional style, which can be seen in our current house as well. When my husband suggested that we install wainscoting in our son's bedroom I was so excited, but I wanted it in all 3 bedrooms. We gave the rooms a different feel by changing the top half of the wall in each room.

My husband installed wainscotting in all 3 bedrooms, in a pattern he designed to tie in with the doors and trim work. We used sheets of mdf and cut them to the width we needed. Then used carpenters glue and finishing nails to install them. We spent a few hours filling holes and sanding, he used caulking to finish off the seams and we were finally ready for paint! We even had a helper for the sanding!

Our little helper!

In our son's room we left the top of the wall in the existing Oyster colour, the bottom of the wall was painted white.

Our son's bedroom

In our daughter's room we let her help choose a new paint colour for the top of her room. She picked Cadillac Pink by Benjamin Moore, and it was the perfect pink! After we turned the house into a rental we repainted it back to Oyster, but I would definitely use Cadillac Pink somewhere else in the future.

After the new paint and wainscoting

Fun fact! I made the headboard with some help from my mom. We found the material in the sale rack for only $3/meter! (my husband hated it and said there was a reason it was on the sale rack, but I LOVED it!). My handy mom also made a custom slip cover for the chair in another fun print that was again hated by my husband (haha). The dresser was originally my mom's and then handed down to me and now handed down to my daughter. It had been painted so many times over the years so for a "fun" summer project, I stripped all of the paint from it about 20 years ago. We updated the drawer pulls for our daughter and in the spring I ended up digging the mirror out of storage and painting both the mirror and dresser with chalk paint - I couldn't help it, I spend way too much time on Pinterest!

In our master bedroom, we wallpapered the top half of the room in a paper we found to coordinate with the ensuite. We also changed the light fixture to a drum chandelier.

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
FEATURED POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page