top of page

BUDGET FRIENDLY DECORATING!


8 Tips for decorating on a budget

If you've been following me for awhile now you will know that we recently relocated and I'm trying NOT to spend any money decorating our temporary home! This has forced me to get creative on how to decorate! (Disclaimer, I'm actually a really frugal person to begin with and I don't like to spend a ton of money on decor!!)

So without further adieu...here are my tips for BUDGET FRIENDLY decorating!

1 - Declutter!

Start with decluttering your house and take a little inventory of what you have in the house. If moving has taught me anything, it's that you don't realize how much you own!

2 - Rearrange it!

Now that you have an idea of what you own try rearranging your furniture and even your decor. Pull the decor out of each room and group it together in one room to shop from. Your house can feel so new and refreshed just be shuffling things around!

Sell it...or buy it on kijiji!

3 - Sell it...or buy it on kijiji!

Now that you've decluttered and rearranged, what do you do with those leftover pieces that you no longer love? Sell them! When I was getting ready to move I sold off a lot of decor pieces like art, lamps, mirrors and flower pots using Varage Sale. Everything sold really quickly and I was left with some spending cash! Why not sell off your old lamps and use the money to buy new ones? Or sell off some old kids toys to buy a desk or something they would love now? I recently saw an amazing room make over by Leigh-Ann Allaire Perrault on Instagram that I found so inspiring. She cleaned out the old play room in her house and transformed the space into a home gym. To pay for the makeover she sold things on kijiji and used the money to buy things from kijiji...the new room only cost her $8.00 out of pocket

4 - Trade it!

4 - Trade it!

If you've grown bored with your current decor odds are your friend's have too! Why not host a decor swap? Just like a clothing swap! Or do something more informal. My sister in law was in need of a new full length mirror and I just happened to have one sitting in the garage so I traded her for a large canvas that she also didn't have room for anymore. Win Win!

5 - Update your art prints for cheap or free!

5 - Update your art prints for cheap or free!

If you have frames around your house you can easily swap out the prints seasonally using free printables found on Pinterest. There are so many talented and creative bloggers out there! For my daughter's bedroom, I found a book of frameable quotes at Michaels (don't forget to use your coupon!) and used frames I already owned to refresh her space.

6 - Paint it!

6 - Paint it!

A little paint can go a long way and make a BIG impact! Try refreshing your room with a quick coat of paint for a drastic makeover. If you are renting and can't paint the room try painting your furniture or adding a wallpaper accent to the back of a bookcase. (I have a small table in my daughter's bedroom that I am wanting to paint once she finally decides on a colour!)

7 - Wainscot it!

7 - Wainscot it!

I LOVE wainscoting! It can instantly add drama and character to any room, even in a new build! By doing it yourself you can update a room over a weekend (or month, lol) for a small investment. We've added wainscoting to our last 2 houses and it's my all time favourite update to add to a home!

8 - Go big or go home!

8 - Go BIG or go home!

This is my motto when it comes to decorating! I love things on a large scale, oversized art, oversized planters and oversized pendants are just a few of my favourite things! I find that the scale of a room with feel bigger when you add a large canvas over 2-3 small framed prints for the same investment. So don't let your husband talk you out of the oversized art that won't fit in the back of your full size SUV and just go for it! Don't be afraid to plant a tree in your planters and never doubt going for 2 oversized pendants over the island instead of 3 tiny ones!

What are your tips for decorating on a budget? Chime in on my Instagram!

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
FEATURED POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page