top of page

SUNSHINE STATE OF MIND - SUMMER BLOG HOP


Sunshine State of Mind - Summer Blog Hop

After what felt like a never ending winter, I am so excited to team up with group of very talented bloggers to share LOTS of fresh new ideas to decorate for summer! The blog hop was organized by Mansa from Simplicite Design and Sweets. Up before me was Shawna from Willlow Bloom Home Blog.

To me summer is the perfect time to throw in pops of fun colours, patterns and of course plants. I love to mix indoor and outdoor elements in the summer and as always I love decor that can be used in a variety of places!

First up let's visit the patio!

Our patio set is old but until I find something as comfortable I refuse to replace it so I freshened up the space with a new outdoor rug from Jysk. This rug was a steal of a deal at only $40!

Next I added some greenery with a fern and Majesty Palm. I love using palm trees and they make such a big impact for a small price!

In the corner I tucked in a cooler bag that I found at Homesense. It's perfect for taking treats on the go or keeping drinks cold on the patio!

Trays make everything look better and are so functional for carrying drinks in from the house. I went with a neutral tray so it can be used anywhere in the house in any season! For an easy refreshing summer drink I added frozen fruit to a mason jar and filled with sparkling water and a lemon wedge garnish!

In the summer I like to bring the indoors out and the outdoors in so adding a Palm tree indoors can really brighten up the space! I've had great luck finding Majesty Palm trees for under $20 at Rona, Home Depot and Lowe's!

Dress it up with a cute basket to hide the pot! I found this adorable basket at Homesense for $19.99 which is cheaper than repotting the tree! (Side note, be sure to line the basket with a tray to protect your floors!

Now onto the dining room!

For my summer dining room, I replaced the placemats with 3 striped table runners! I found the table runners from IKEA in the very early spring. I knew they would be perfect for a fun summer table!

I used cheerful melamine plates as chargers and repurposed plants from around the house to dress up the table. You could easily switch out the plants for fresh cut flowers!

I used a decorative tray to keep my lemons and straws handy which can double as decor! The straws were found at Superstore...have you checked out their new and improved party section? I was so impressed!

Thank you for touring my home, I hope you enjoyed it! Next up is Design It Vintage Living! Be sure to check out her beautiful home :)

SUNSHINE STATE OF MIND - Summer Home Tour

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
FEATURED POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page