top of page

HOLIDAY ENTERTAINING MADE EASY WITH WAYFAIR!


Happy December! My house is decorated, my kids are home sick so it must be getting close to Christmas, LOL! For years I have loved entertaining for the holidays, whether it be for 20+ extended family members or just a small dinner party with a couple of close friends. Over time I have picked up a few tips and tricks which I'm sharing with you today!

* THE INVITATIONS

I love sending and receiving invitations! It can tell you a lot more about the party that a simple text message can and who doesn't feel special when receiving an actual old fashioned invitation? For years I have designed my own on the computer and mailed them out but last year I created a digital invite which I shared by email and text messages. Know your crowd! Your grandma probably won't appreciate getting an e-vite but there's a good chance your brother never checks his mail!

* THE ENTRYWAY

The entryway is your chance to make a great first impression for your guests. I always like to set the tone for the evening with a decorated porch. It can be as simple as a cute door mat and wreath, a planter filled with fresh greens or lanterns with flameless candles.

Once inside guests will need a place to hang their coats and take off their boots. If you are only expecting a small group make sure you have cleared a space in the front closet. If you are having a larger group a portable garment rack can make a perfect coat check in a bedroom or garage. Hats and mittens can be tucked in the sleeves, purses can be hung on the hanger but I like having a couple of decorative baskets to help catch any of those extra things people have with them.

* THE BAR CART

Once your guests are in the door, you'll want to offer them a drink. By having a bar cart you can free up a lot of counter space! The great thing about a bar cart is it's so versatile and can be re-purposed as decor year round when it's not being used for parties. If you have room in the cart stack a few favourite games. Favourites around here are ANY type of trivia cards, Jenga or crib. If you are entertaining kids too be sure to add in a few kid friendly games and mocktails. I remember feeling so fancy drinking 7UP out of plastic wine glasses every year at my grandma's house.

* THE FOOD

For me the holidays are all about the food! When planning your holiday entertaining know what you want to serve for food. Are you serving brunch, appetizers, a full dinner or just desserts and cocktails? I've hosted a variety of different gatherings over the years but we're going to focus on tips for a full dinner. Whether you are hosting a potluck or cooking it all yourself, planning is key! When hosting a large group I find serving buffet style works best. To make the buffet go off without a hitch you will need to invest in several slow cookers or borrow from friends and family. This way you can have the food ready to serve and have a clean kitchen while greeting your guests!

Early in the afternoon the day of the party I will set the tables and plan out the buffet stations. I use place card holders to make sure everything will have a place and that the stations will flow smoothly! Because I love to entertain, I have stocked up with plenty of white plates and cutlery. If you don't have enough on hand you can look into renting extras or pick up a set of high quality disposable flatware!

For the table setting I like the idea of using table runners. Table cloths can make it difficult to get in and out of the table when seating a lot of guests. This neutral table runner is a great investment piece because it could be styled with different centrepieces for any holiday! When choosing centrepieces, keep them low so you can see across the table and if using candles make sure they are unscented.

*GUEST ROOM

If you are hosting overnight guests a custom WIFI password sign is a must! One of the first questions a guest will ask is "what's the wifi passoword" and who wants to spend the next 10 minutes searching for the answer scribbled on a little paper somewhere on the desk? LOL!

A few simple decorations can help make your guest room feel festive. Add a small tree to the nightstand, drope a garland over the bed frame, add a cozy throw or even switch the sheets to a warm flannel set with a cute seasonal print! Finally add a Christmas throw pillow or two to finish off the space.

Do you entertain for the holidays? What are some of your favourite tips or tricks?

*Wayfair reached out to me to be part of a blogger campaign for Christmas. All opinions are my own and I was not compensated for this post. I do not receive anything if you purchase from one of these links.

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
FEATURED POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page