top of page

DIY PAPER FLOWERS

If you follow me on Instagram then you probably know I spent the month of July slowly making paper flowers for my daughter's bedroom. I have always LOVED paper flowers but was intimidated by the process of making them, I had a few ideas of where to put them but didn't know how to get started. Recently we stopped in at Pottery Barn kids and I was in awe of everything, especially the crepe paper flowers. I kept think about them for the next few days and started pinning paper flowers getting ideas on how to make them. Finally I took the plunge and bought some card stock from Michaels (I looked for crepe paper but couldn't find what I was looking for).

Originally I also picked up a kit from Michaels with the intentions of using it as a template, but I found that I preferred the free templates I found online. Another tip is to do all of the cutting, then shape all of the petals, then glue them. I was able to do several smaller flowers from scrap paper after cutting the big petals. I still have to cut a few leaves, but after a month of flower making I'm taking a short break! I was able to cut all of these flowers from 3/4 of a pack of card stock, overall I used 2 packages of paper to create all of the flowers.

My favourite websites for templates and tutorials were

I decided to hang the flower with small tacks. I made the circles slightly larger than I needed to leave space to fit the tack without being seen. I'll post more pictures once I have the leaves in place....possibly not for a few weeks, lol.

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
FEATURED POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page