top of page

ST. PATRICK'S DAY PARTY

Winter is really long in our part of the country. The days are short and frigid, I don't leave the house unless it's necessary. So by the time March rolls around we are ready for something fun to do! This year my daughter wanted to throw a St. Patrick's Day party. We started planning the party in February and it was so nice to have something fun to look forward to. She invited 9 of her closest friends for an afternoon of snacks and crafts. We asked everyone to wear something green and I loved seeing all of the kids in their fun St. Patrick's Day outfits!

For the food we baked mini cupcakes and frosted them in an ombre of white and shades of green (side note - my daughter is old enough to help ice cupcakes...when did that happen?!!?). We also made green shamrock sugar cookies and served candy. I found some fun straws at Party City, which were a big hit with the kids! The 2 straws that don't match were for my son and his friend so they could easily find their own drink!

I wanted to set up a craft to keep the kids occupied, my daughter wanted to paint "leprechaun blind boxes". We found some paper mâché boxes at the dollar store, then used paint and stickers to decorate the boxes. The girls spent almost an hour working on the boxes, after they were done the craft we sent them to the food table. Once the boxes were dry, they went upstairs to play and I filled each of the boxes with treats. The treats included sunglasses, necklaces, green gumballs, chocolate coins and adorable erasers I also found at Party City. I had my daughter handwrite notes for each of the boxes that said "thank you for coming".

As another activity, I set up a photo booth. I used props that I had purchased a few years ago from Michaels and decorated the wall with Shamrocks. We also had extra sunglasses and necklaces on hand for anyone who needed extra green! The kids had a blast playing with the props but we never managed to get them all together for a group picture.

The party was lots of fun! It was nice to host a party where it's not for a birthday and you need to worry about presents and trying to fit in cake and gift opening and play time. I think we'll be planning another party for next year!

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
FEATURED POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page