top of page

DIY FAUX FIREPLACE

My sister in law was looking to add some character to her condo and asked my husband (her brother) to help her build a faux fireplace. The two of them sat down and planned it out one evening and built it the following weekend. I asked her if I could post pictures of her project and she happily obliged!

Here's a picture of her space before they started. They used painters tape to help decide how tall to make the mantel.

They took measurements and then prefabbed all of the pieces in our garage. They attached wood pieces to the wall where they would need to secure the mantel and also installed a new electrical box for the tv.

Step One

The sides of the mantel

The mantel

Installing the shiplap details

Installing the frame around the shiplap

Painting the mantel

(tip! The builder did not provide her with the paint colour used on the trim, so she took a piece of trim they removed into Lowe's and they were able to match it for her!)

The finished fireplace!

I love the colour she used on the shiplap! It turned out fantastic and I can't wait to see what she does to style her new mantel. Maybe one day she will let me share a photo tour of her condo (hint, hint!) :) Kym has great taste and has recently started an instagram account. You can follow more of her design adventures @kymteriors.

Thanks for letting me feature your project Kym!

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
FEATURED POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page