top of page

KENSINGTON BLUE BOYS BEDROOM


Kensington Blue Boys Bedroom

In our old house my son's bedroom was very light and neutral with white wainscoting and oyster painted walls. When we decided to build our current house I knew exactly what I wanted for him...a rich navy bedroom with vintage aviation accessories. So first things first was to start gathering a few accessories. The very first thing we found was this perfect plane from Homesense. I loved the colours and vintage look. Next up was the plane propeller, we picked it up on a weekend road trip to the states.

Vintage float plane "Harbour Air"

Over time I was able to collect the bedding set, and throw pillow. I added a Ralph Lauren striped sheet and am still looking for a fluffy grey comforter to layer in the cooler winter months. After moving in we found the matching hamper, which even has the letter 'G' on some of the planes...it was meant to be, because my son's names starts with the letter G!

Vintage airplane hamper

Once we had enough of the accessories we used our Benjamin Moore swatches and picked Kensington Blue. I absolutely love it! If we move again I would have to find a room somewhere to use it again. There is something about a crisp navy and white colour scheme that I LOVE!

DIY plane artwork

Homesense has no shortage of great aviation themed decor and I almost bought artwork several times. Luckily I hadn't bought anything because my dad took the kids and I to the airport to see a vintage B25 that was on tour across the country. I managed to take a few shots through the crowd of people that were gathered around and had them printed at London Drugs (they offer square prints). I used the RIBBA frames from IKEA in white and they are my favourite thing in his bedroom.

Walk in toy room/art gallery

Walk in toy room

We designed his bedroom to have a build out that currently holds his dresser. As he gets older our plan is to have a desk built into the space with open shelving above. Currently I'm using his closet for toy storage (and personal art gallery), so it will be a fun project once he's a little older to build a real closet and desk.

Silver plane coat hooks

The coat rack was a Marhsall's find...he was only 2 and saw the silver airplane coat rack and had to have it for his bedroom. I was so shocked that he showed interest in decorating his room that I said of course we can buy it!! He brought it home and even showed us where he wanted it and still uses it to hang his favourite sweaters. Hooks are the easiest way to encourage your kids to pick up their sweaters, backpacks etc!

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
FEATURED POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page