top of page

FOYER REFRESH FOR WINTER


Fresh new foyer for the holidays!

It has been so cold lately that I'm feeling festive a little earlier than usual! We had been discussing the idea of repainting the dresser in the foyer and I decided to get it done before we start decorating for Christmas! We tossed around a few colours but really wanted to do a nice dark grey. I had painted the kid's bathroom mirror a nice grey and didn't have any paint left so I stopped at Lowe's to find something similar. They had so many nice shades of grey to choose from, but the first one I picked was ironically the one I ended up using (always trust your gut!).

HGTV by Sherwin Williams for Lowe's

Peppercorn - HGTV by Sherwin Williams for Lowe's

When I painted the bathroom mirror, I tried chalk paint for the first time and I LOVED it! I was working with a detailed mirror and sanding it to prep was not going so well. I found a DIY chalk paint recipe by Lowe's and decided to try it out. I simply wiped it down so that it was a clean surface and painted over it (I should dig out the before pictures..it was an eyesore!) The chalk paint went on so well. I have since re-used this recipe a couple of times, I love being able to mix it myself and chose from any colour I want. I have not waxed or distressed any of the pieces after, I like the clean, smooth, matte finish. The best part of not waxing the dresser is that I was able to paint right over my previous paint job. (I'm not an expert at painting furniture, and I know there is probably a better way to do it, but it's worked for me!).

Easy DIY Chalk Paint Recipe

My go to DIY chalk paint recipe:

You will need:

  • Flat latex paint

  • Plastic paint buckets (or disposable plastic containers)

  • Plaster of Paris

  • Stir sticks

  • Plastic measuring cups (do not reuse for food)

  • Water (cool, not warm)

Mix 1/3 cup of Plaster of Paris and 1/3 cup of cool water; stir until completely smooth.

Mix that with 1 cup of latex paint and stir thoroughly.

This will make enough chalk-finish paint for one coat on a six-drawer dresser. Chalk-finish paint should not be stored and reused.

*Note that the plaster of paris will lighten your paint colour slightly, when it doubt pick a shade slightly darker!

Updating the dresser with a fresh coat of grey chalk paint

In my previous paint job, I painted the drawers light blue and decided to keep them blue as an accent. I am still on the hunt for a drawer liner or wallpaper that will work as a drawer liner. I had a few scraps around the house, but none of them were just right! Once it is totally finished I'll post more pictures!

The newly painted dresser - looks so warm now!

The foyer after the refresh for winter!

Once the dresser was done I pulled out one Christmas decoration just because I couldn't wait any longer! After Christmas I want to find a nice winter wreath to hang over the mirror until spring, I have a few ideas on my Pinterest page. That evening I went to Wal-Mart for a few things and stopped in the home decor section to look for a larger rug for the mud room. I didn't find what I was looking for....but I didn't leave empty handed! I found the cutest Merry Christmas door mat. So darn cute, and under $10! I love a good find and at that price it's easy to justify seasonal door mats!

New Merry Christmas doormat from Wal-Mart!

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
FEATURED POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page