top of page

PAINTING PUMPKINS


Growing up we would always carve one pumpkin as a family. One year my mom bought a book with designs you could paint on pumpkins (those were the pre-internet days haha). We were each given our own pumpkin to paint and I loved it! So fast forward to several years later with my own family and two kids who have to help with everything. My son is dying to carve his own pumpkin but quite frankly the thought of a 3-4 year old holding a knife is frightening (haha). I introduced my daughter to painting pumpkins when she was 3 and every year she is so excited to decorate for Halloween!

Why is painting pumpkins great?

1 - the pumpkins will last longer

2 - no need to worry about a candle in the pumpkin or finding a battery operated light

3 - it's faster (the attention span of my children is pretty short)

4 - it's fun!

**IMPORTANT TIP** - When you are planning to paint the pumpkins do not store them outside or buy them from a grocer who stores them outside. I have had this happen twice (learning from trial and error) and the paint will not stick! If you live in a warmer climate this might not be an issue, but the freezing nights we get in Saskatchewan must be too cold.

I like to pick out a variety of pumpkins to decorate, even those little mini pumpkins are a cute addition to a display on the porch!

First I will plan what colours I want to use and pick up any new paints that I will be needing. I use acrylic paint from the dollar store, I also found some stickers for the kids to add to their creation.

Next I cover the area with plastic garbage bags or newspaper and set up individual painting stations...kids love their own station!

I opted for a white and gold scheme. First I painted my pumpkin gold, let it dry then put on round stickers and painted over it with white. When I removed the stickers some of the paint was pulled off so I did touch ups but in hindsight next time I think I would just paint the stickers and stick them on! So much easier!!

My daughter painted the one on the left at school earlier in the week. At home she created a pumpkin person, with crazy hair and shoes. She loves glitter!!

My son made a few googley eyed monsters, and has requested more stickers for this year!

I can't wait to see what creations they come up with this year!

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
FEATURED POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page