top of page

IKEA EKTORP 3 YEAR REVIEW!

IKEA EKTORP 3 YEAR REVIEW!

Just over 3 years ago we were moving into our new house and I was NOT taking my tattered old leather couch with me! I fell in love with the white slip covered sofas on Pinterest but Pottery Barn was out of the question until my kids were older. I found the IKEA Ektorp sofa and thought it would be the perfect fit for the new living room! Since we lived 6 hours away from the closest IKEA I blindly ordered it online and had it shipped to the house.

So it's been 3 years and what do we think of the EKTORP? I am still happy with my purchase! Here are a few things to keep in mind if you are wanting to purchase an EKTORP.

1 - The couch comes flat packed in a large HEAVY box! I had the delivery people set it in the middle of the living room and managed to assemble it by myself before my husband came home! I am usually really bad at assembling anything so I would say the couch is very easy to assemble.

*Note - that box WILL be claimed by your children to make their own couch!

2 - The number one reason I bought the couch is for the bright white slip covers! I love having a white couch and the ability to throw it in the wash whenever it needs it. I made a no eating on the couch rule...but that quickly went out the window. LOL

3 - Changing up the look in your living room is SO easy when you can just quickly change the slip cover! The slip covers range from $100-$149 BUT over the weekend I picked up a new cover on clearance for $19!! Start the car!!

* Note: When I bought the couch they had a plaid cover which I didn't buy because I thought they would always have it...they discontinued it shortly after and I was so disappointed!! If you see something you LOVE buy it now!

3 - The slip covers shrink over time! I didn't realize how much my original covers had shrunk until I bought a new cover. When you first get the covers they are a little lose and very easy to put on. I made the mistake of putting them in the dryer which doesn't help! After struggling with them several times I learned a few tricks. Wash the slip covers in cold water and put them on the couch while they are still slightly damp. They will fit on way easier and will dry wrinkle free!

4 - The couch has stood up to many pillow forts and dance parties...every 6 months or so I will tighten up the couch when changing the slip cover so I would suggest keeping the tools somewhere you will remember!

5 - As always you get what you pay for! Is this $500 couch as comfortable or well made as one from Restoration Hardware? No and I wouldn't expect it to be! If you are looking for a comfy family room where you don't need to stress over what your kids are doing to your furniture then this couch fits the bill!

**All opinions are my own. I have not been compensated or sponsored by IKEA to write this post.

Related Posts

See All
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
FEATURED POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page